top of page
  • Writer's pictureOshea

๐Ÿ’•๐Ÿ‘ฉโ€โค๏ธโ€๐Ÿ‘จ The 5 Love Languages - How Do You Give And Receive Love?

Do you know your partner's love language? Do they know yours? Has your love been getting lost in translation? Learn to communicate your love effectively and meet each other's emotional needs! ๐Ÿ’˜

1. Words of Affirmation ๐Ÿ’œ

Photo Credit: A Conscious Rethink

People who have Words of Affirmation as their primary love language feel most loved through verbal and written expressions of love, appreciation, praise, and encouragement.

They also value compliments, kind words, and affirming statements. Especially in disagreements and conflicts, it is important to those with this love language to use kind and loving words throughout.

Ways to express love in this love language:

๐Ÿ’œ Saying "I love you" and expressing affection verbally to your partner.

๐Ÿ’œ Leaving little love notes with positive affirmations around the house for them to find.

๐Ÿ’œ Complimenting each other genuinely and specifically, highlighting their qualities or accomplishments.

2. Acts of Service ๐Ÿ’™

Photo Credit:

For individuals with this love language, actions speak louder than words. They appreciate when their partner does helpful or thoughtful things for them, such as cooking a meal, running errands, or completing tasks.

Acts of service demonstrate love and care to them. In times of difficulty or sickness, they feel the most loved when they are taken care of and looked after.

Ways to express love in this love language:

๐Ÿ’™ Running errands or taking care of your partner's responsibilities to alleviate their burden.

๐Ÿ’™ Preparing their favourite meal or surprising them with breakfast in bed.

๐Ÿ’™ Providing your partner with practical support such as offering to assist with work or personal projects.

3. Receiving Gifts ๐Ÿ’š

Photo Credit: Unsplash

For some people, receiving a heartfelt gift is what makes them feel most loved. For those whose love language is receiving gifts, they appreciate tangible representations of love.

It tends to not be about materialism or the monetary value of the gift, but rather the thought and effort behind it. People with this love language appreciate the sentiment and meaning behind the presents they receive.

Ways to express love in this love language:

๐Ÿ’š Surprising your partner with a thoughtful gift that relates to a shared memory or a special moment you both cherish.

๐Ÿ’š Bringing them flowers or a plant that holds significance to them even if there is no special occasion.

๐Ÿ’š Finding and giving them something they have been wanting or needing, such as a book they have been hoping to read.

4. Quality Time ๐Ÿ’›

Photo Credit: Psychologies Magazine

This love language is all about undivided attention and spending meaningful time together. Individuals who value quality time desire focused and uninterrupted interactions with their partners.

They feel loved when they have their partner's full presence and engagement in shared activities. This is often through actively listening to your partner and being fully present in conversations.

Ways to express love in this love language:

๐Ÿ’› Planning a romantic weekend getaway or a day trip to explore a new place together.

๐Ÿ’› Turning off distractions and spending uninterrupted time talking and listening to each other.

๐Ÿ’› Having a dedicated date night at home with your partner's favourite movie and a homemade dinner.

5. Physical Touch ๐Ÿงก

Photo Credit: Crated With Love

People who have Physical Touch as their primary love language feel loved when they receive physical signs of affection such as holding hands, hugging, kissing, or other forms of touch.

Physical touch can communicate warmth, intimacy, and connection, which is especially meaningful and affirming for those who prioritise this love language in their relationships.

Ways to express love in this love language:

๐Ÿงก Initiating a comforting hug or embrace when your partner needs support or is feeling down.

๐Ÿงก Displaying affection publicly during everyday interactions.

๐Ÿงก Cuddling up together to watch a movie or reading a book side by side.

This article is based on the concept introduced by Dr. Gary Chapman in his book "The Five Love Languages: How to Express Heartfelt Commitment to Your Mate." According to Chapman, understanding that people have different ways of giving and receiving love allows people to greatly improve the quality of their relationships.

Understanding your own love language, as well as your partner's, can help you communicate love more effectively and meet each other's emotional needs! ๐Ÿ’•

with Love,

The Dateideas Team

๐Ÿฅฐ Follow us on Instagram, Telegram & TikTok for more unique dateideas!


bottom of page